|
此文章由 patrickzhu 原创或转贴,不代表本站立场和观点,版权归 oursteps.com.au 和作者 patrickzhu 所有!转贴必须注明作者、出处和本声明,并保持内容完整
原帖由 叶多妈妈 于 2009-9-13 22:35 发表 
我中学照片是肯定找不到的,因为我在这儿上的是大学
以前这儿是总督府的马廐,后来我们把马儿全赶了出去。。。开始练琴。 In 1816 Governor Macquarie commissioned architect Francis Greenway to design a grand residence and stables in the castellated style. Macquarie's passion for building was considered the chief extravagance of his administration and while the stables were built, the Home Government prevented him from proceeding with his plans for a new vice-regal residence. Macquarie's stables, currently the Conservatorium of Music, occupied a prominent position in the Government Domain and their distinctive Gothic style determined the style and site of the second Government House.
去看了一下government house的网站,原来那个这么漂亮城堡一样的房子原来是马廐啊,真是想不到啊。
The Stables 1817-1821
In July 1817 Governor Lachlan Macquarie commissioned architect Francis Greenway to prepare plans for a new government house, associated offices and stables. Macquarie chose the site for the new house and stables, instructing Greenway to design the stables 'in the castellated style'.
Greenway had planned the stables to be part of the picturesque landscape surrounding the proposed Government House. With horse stalls, boxes and staff quarters arranged around a central courtyard, the stables were typical of the period, but were the most elaborate to be constructed in New South Wales.
During the nineteenth century alterations were made to the interiors of the stables to provide additional staff accommodation and in the early 1900s provision was made for a motor garage. In 1912 the Advisory Committee for an Academy of Fine Arts recommended that a Conservatorium of Music be established, preferably in an existing building. It was decided that the stables be altered to house the new Conservatorium. Existing rooms were converted to offices, an auditorium was constructed in the central courtyard and the entrance gates to Government House were moved back from Macquarie Street to provide a public space in front of the building. The Conservatorium was officially opened in 1915.
[ 本帖最后由 patrickzhu 于 2009-9-13 23:33 编辑 ] |
|