新足迹

找回密码
 注册

精华好帖回顾

· 小茉妈全家2020圣诞七年后二游塔斯马尼亚 (2021-1-5) dormimi · 参加活动 -- 我家厨房秀 -- 新装修了厨房之后连厨艺都提升了 (多图) (2015-12-12) triciayi
· 上几款貌美又好吃的中式点心, 早餐餐桌不再单调,附菜谱。 (2014-5-18) fvalor · 【摄出你的足迹】- 参加自己发起的活动 (2013-1-7) 老陶
Advertisement
Advertisement
查看: 1135|回复: 2

[其他] Advice From Employers [复制链接]

发表于 2010-1-7 11:47 |显示全部楼层
此文章由 chenlu911 原创或转贴,不代表本站立场和观点,版权归 oursteps.com.au 和作者 chenlu911 所有!转贴必须注明作者、出处和本声明,并保持内容完整
Advice From Employers
Employer's respond to common issues raised by students.

Q: Hi, I'm a mature student studying my Bachelors at Adelaide. I'm worried that my age will prevent me from gaining employment. Should I hide my age? If so, how?

"Definitely not. As in all walks of life, there are work environments that are made for different individuals, so find the ones that suit you. Instead of worrying about your age, concentrate on the life skills that you bring to a workplace that the normal 20 something grad won't have. It's also good to consider employers who have some flexibility in how they manage their grads, the larger the grad intake the less flexibility which means less ability to utilise your life skills."

Peg Miller ~ Relationship Manager - Students, Educators & Employers ~ Institute of Chartered Accountants

"No, do not hide your age. Honesty is the best policy and you would be surprised how many employers value the life experience and work ethic of a mature age student. By hiding your age it means it is something you are embarrassed of, and you shouldn't be! You bring a wealth of knowledge to the table and it will always come out in the end anyway."

Emma Kilcoyne ~ Candidate Manager Executive Finance ~Talent2

"An indication of your age, or better still your life experience, will be evident from your resume, so don't try to hide it.

As well as the relevant qualification, an employer is looking for people who have communication skills to work with other staff effectively in a variety of team situations.